INTERVIEW: Paper Magazine Interview Ciara

Ciara’s upcoming album “Basic Instict” is due to be released in seventeen days. The international superstar is currently doing her promotion rounds and stopped by Paper Magazine to discuss her latest project.

Heres a snippet of her interview:

Your video for “Ride,” which has over 10 million hits on YouTube, was banned from BET.  Why is it acceptable for BET to play videos with the booty shaking “video girls” but not a confident woman expressing herself sensually through dance?

Well, it was unexpected for me. In my past experience with my videos with BET in particular, I’ve been used to cutting things out here and there. But when I heard it was banned and would never be played, it was definitely a surprise for me. I didn’t expect that. However, it’s just one of those things… I of course want my video to be played on all networks, but at this point it’s all good. Thank God for new technology and that there are so many ways for my fans to see my video.

How important are music videos for you?

They’re very important for me because they help me to sell my vision or share my vision, and again, performing is another way to bring lyrics to life. So for example, for the “Ride” song, I service the video and the song at the same time. I guess sometimes my fans expect for me to have a faster tempo record sometimes. However, with the right song I wanted to give my vision in its entirety. So for me, in my perspective, videos are really important because they allow me to completely share my vision and make it clear.

What do you think of today’s popular female pop stars? Would you ever want to duet with any of them?

I give respect to any woman who’s being successful in our music industry. It’s a tough world and tough at times to push through and really, really create your own thing and make it solid. I’m all for it — I’m super supportive of any woman being successful in music, especially in this day and age. If I could work with someone it’d be Fergie. I love her energy, her attitude. I love her swag. I think it’d be fun and really a lot of attitude.

Check the rest of the interview here : Paper Magazine Interviews Ciara

I’ve posted a couple of music videos for those that have missed her latest promo work. Enjoy!

“Basic Instinct” – Ciara

“Ride” – Ciara

Leave a Reply

